Join Newsletter


Share with:

Recent Posts

December 2004

1. Core OS or Darwin layer - foundation of OS, responsible for all Input/Output and for managing memory and processor usage 2. Core services Layer - includes Quartz (graphics engine), QuickTime, Directory Services, as well as others 3. Developer Frameworks (Carbon, Cocoa, Java 2) 4. Application Layer -...

Read More

Berkeley Software Distribution (BSD, sometimes called Berkeley Unix) is the Unix derivative distributed by the University of California, Berkeley starting in the 1970s. The name is also used collectively for the modern descendants of these distributions. Mac OS X is a derivative of the original BSD...

Read More

There are two basic types of multitasking: preemptive and cooperative. preemptive - preemptive multitasking, the operating system parcels out CPU time slices to each program (introduced with Mac OS X 10.0) cooperative multitasking - each program can control the CPU for as long as it needs...

Read More